Top students receive $18,000 in awards

Karla Tull-Esterbrook | Geode Bench
Posted: Thu, 2013-06-27 14:06

Emily Carr wishes to thank the many donors whose generosity funded student awards for The Show 2013, and acknowledge the jurors for graciously providing their expertise and time in support of emerging artists and designers.

If you missed The Show 2013, you will be able to see the works of many of the award recipients at the Winsor Gallery exhibition, Emily Carr University Award Winners from June 27- July 13. An opening reception takes place Saturday, June 29, 2-4pm.

Congratulations to the 2013 Award Recipients!

  • Samantha Knopp – Circle Craft Graduation Award for Ceramics
  • Lynn Price – Mary Plumb Blade Award (Painting or Printmaking)
  • Emily Gossmann - Sophie Burnett Memorial Award (highest GPA in Media, undergraduate level)
  • Paolo Pennuti - Winsor Gallery Graduate Student Award (Painting, Sculpture, Multimedia or Photography)
  • John C. Kerr Chancellor’s Awards (combines GPA and work in The Show):
    • Design - Clea Lautrey
    • Fine Arts - Vanessa Brown
    • Media Arts - Jia Jun (Rockey) Chen
  • André & Marita Nudelman Award for Visual Arts:
    • First Place - Charlie Satterlee
    • Second Place - Katrina Niebergal
    • Third Place - Nadia Sajjad
  • Karla Tull-Esterbrook, Kellen Deighton – Wood Co-Op/Forestry Innovation Investment in Wood Design Industrial Design Graduation Award
  • President’s Media Award:
    • Mauricio Moreno Pampin - Animation
    • Ying Fei (Celine) Sun -  Film/Video
    • Soledad Munoz and Conrad Sly - Installation/Interactive Media
  • Andreas Eiken - 180° Thinking for Sustainability Student Leadership Award (selected by internal committee)
  • Nathalie Lavoie - Governor General’s Gold Medal (highest GPA, graduate level)
  • Lynn Price – Governor General’s Silver Medal (highest GPA, undergraduate level)

Honorable Mentions went to:
Ricardo Castanedo-Laredo, Felicia E. Gail, Jenna Ledger, Heather Lippold, David O’Brian, Phoebe Redline Johnson, Leo Stefansson + Janice Wu.

Please visit Support Emily Carr to learn how your support can positively impact students and shape the creative economy.